FlashPunk Tutorial: Created a Repository on GitHub

Like this at Facebook! Good morning/afternoon/evening/night my fellow FlashPunk developers! As suggested by Gornova81 over on the FlashPunk forums, I decided to publish my code on an online version control system. As I was writing the code for the pathfinding, I realized there were various other problems with my existing code, so I did a lot of refactoring before writing the pathfinding. So, I realized that as the code grows in size, writing a tutorial series with line-exact code descriptions that is based on a morphing project is kinda insane. I think it’s better for me personally to simply publish the code on GitHub (gave me a reason to learn how to use it, too), write about the important parts in the tutorials only with reference to defined commits of the code is a better way of doing this. In the end, this allows me to focus on the development and makes writing tutorials easier and quicker.

I hope you check out the repository and who knows, maybe it could become a team effort, if that is what is best for the project. I have to warn you though, the latest commits are not always going to be working a 100%. I will be breaking and re-assembling a lot, it’s my playground after all :D.

I’m always trying to keep the quality of the code architecture-wise on a high level, as well as comment code where it makes sense and use clearly understandable naming conventions wherever possible.

So the repository link is here: http://github.com/dolgion1/FlashPunk-JRPG-Engine

I’m also new to GitHub, so there might be a few changes regarding the repository itself here and there. I have used SVN in production before though, so I’m pretty confident I’m not going to mess up anything big-time.

The tutorial on pathfinding is currently being written, having taken care of this whole how-to-continue-writing-tutorials-without-going-crazy issue for now. Well then, be ready for it tomorrow or the day after. The Doglion logging out….

email thispdfcut and reblogBookmark on deliciousShare on Facebooktwitterdigg thisGoogle BuzzYahoo BuzzBookmark on FriendfeedAdd this anywhere

Leave a Reply

